In 1981, the Bolinaga brothers Jul and Txerra formed a band called Doble Cero, along with bassist and singer Eduardo Mancebo, a.k.a. “Portu”. They added Juan Luis Mallabi as lead singer, and initially pursued a hardcore punk direction. Mallabi was then drafted for military service, and was replaced by the group manager Karlos Agirreurreta, best known as “Mahoma”, i.e. Muhammad.

When Mallabi returned to the band, tensions escalated between him and “Mahoma”, making Mallabi walk out from the group.

The remaining members renamed the band as RIP, releasing the maxi-single Zona Especial Norte in 1984, edited by the label Basati Diskak, shared with Eskorbuto.

In 1985, although they could only get an independent record deal, releasing their first live album: 83 84 Elgoibar Vitoria Lasarte Barna, this recording has subsequently become more widely available as cassette (then as CD re-issue by Destruye!!! Records in 2006). RIP opened the Euskal Rock festival, at Barcelona in November 1985, along with La Polla Records, Kortatu and Cicatriz.

In 1987, they launched their only full studio album No Te Muevas, released by the label Basati Diskak. It is generally regarded as one of the most important albums in the history of Basque and Spanish punk. But then in 1988, the members broke up the band.

In 1991, the band reconvened to play in a concert for the Arrasate Press festival, at Mondragón.

While Fermin Muguruza was working on a festival in 1994, he and his own label Esan Ozenki, invited Mahoma, Jul, Txerra and Portu to share the show with another bands, officially reunited as RIP. By 1995, the reunion show was released on CD as HIESari Aurre Egiten!!.